elise-schiller-watermark-book-review

Watermark by Elise Schiller

watermark-elise-schiller-book-reviewWatermark by Elise Schiller

May 2020

Elise Schiller’s Watermark is a poignant novel that gripped me from beginning to end. Masterfully structured and told from the alternating points of view of the protagonist’s  loyal friend and astute yet anxiety-ridden younger sister, this novel offers the reader a multi-faceted view of Angel Ferente, a girl positioned to succeed against the greatest odds.  A heartbreaking and compelling drama of our times, Watermark is perfect for fans of Angie Thomas.  I will be recommending it widely. More Info

finding-mrs-ford-barbara-goodrich-royce-book-review

Finding Mrs Ford by Deborah Royce

finding-mrs-ford-barbara-goodrich-royce-book-reviewFinding Mrs Ford by Deborah Royce

June 2019

In her literary debut, Deborah Goodrich Royce has given us the sort of thriller that wants to be devoured in one sitting. Written from start to finish with crisp and poignant prose, compelling characters and setting, Finding Mrs. Ford entertains as much with imagery as with its masterful plot twists. I couldn’t put it down.

Hard Cider by Barbara Stark Nemon

hard-cider-barbara-stark-newman-book-reviewHard Cider by Barbara Stark Nemon

September 2018

Hard Cider is a fabulous novel about starting a business, taking on challenges, and building a family. The real treat was spending time with protagonist Abbie Rose. Forced to reckon with potentially shattering news, she is human to the core. I so enjoyed being on this ride with her, watching her gain acceptance and eventually find grace. Not just a great story, this is a beautiful example of how to live.

david-hirshberg-my-mother's-son-book-review

My Mother’s Son by David Hirshberg

david-hirshberg-my-mother's-son-book-reviewMy Mother’s Son by David Hirshberg

May 2018

Reading My Mother’s Son is like opening up a time capsule and sifting among the treasures. 1952 Boston comes alive as David Hirschberg weaves the artifacts of that year into the fabric of his poignant narrative. This provocative novel is the colorful description of life as seen through the eyes of thirteen-year-old Joel, and at the same time, a telling and re-telling that allows adult Joel to process and decipher the truths and richness of all that transpires. I enjoyed it from beginning to end.